Gluten Free, Dairy Free Almond Rhubarb Cheesecake

You can follow this recipe image by image. I used this great and simple gluten free pie crust, but lost the recipe! It’s just a mixed blend of pitted dates, almonds, and walnuts. Put in enough dates to make the crust stick together when you press it between your figures. I used a nut crusher to mix the ingredients.

I didn’t have agar agar in the house when making this recipe so I substituted gelatin, this worked fine, but the almond cream topping got a little too thick after sitting in the fridge overnight. Agar agar is great, and I have since used it in jams and sauces. I would not substitute it again.

It was fun making so many different layers, but the end pie came out tasting a little bland. If I were to make it again, I would use a different dairy free icing…although the almond one was very delicious in and of itself.
It also shows you how to make your own almond milk. Which I highly recommend and will talk about in my next blog.

Here’s a picture of mine:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

